"i love what you do for me"

i’m beginning to feel apathy toward my poor mazda sitting outside. is it because it needs new brakes and tires, has a couple dings (thanks to careless drivers, passersby and too-hard snow brushing) and, at a a mere 4 years old, is beginning to feel “old” to me? she’s still lovely, really, but …

i couldn’t help it. i let myself start researching new sedan-style vehicles based on safety (i’m boring), maintenance (i ain’t rich) and look (i pretend to be cool). my current bank roll laughed at me, my future bank roll gave a thumbs up to the old standbys: another mazda, subaru, toyota and honda, while my daydreamer bank roll gave way to a land rover. yeah, there’s a bit of a $ discrepancy. so what?

anyway, all of that to say, my car search reminded me of one project i love to remember from my 1.5 years at rapp collins: a direct mail piece for the toyota tundra. apparently, folks in the midwest weren’t buying the idea that toyota belonged in america’s heartland alongside the likes of chevy, ford and dodge. toyota said, i beg to differ, and voila. (this remains one of my favorite pieces, b/c the client trusted us and let us do what we were hired to do.)

thank you, toyota. i love what you did for me.

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: cover

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: first inside spread

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: inside spreads 2 and 3

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: inside spread 2 (left, close up)

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: inside spread 2 (right, close up)

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: inside spread 3 (left, close up)

toyota tundra brains vs brawn: inside spread 3 (right, close up)

Leave a Reply

