oh happy day!

somehow, i forgot to spend a gift card. to neglect such a thing is very, very unlike me. so, you can imagine my surprise and glee, when, on this gloomy fall day with a fiery sore throat and scratchy voice, i found it just lying there waiting for me. there it sat in my blue bowl atop the dining room table among other randar items like my camera charger, computer and ipod cords, etc. expiration: 12.13. holy crap! i’m asking you, dear readers (yes, all 2 of you), to help me decide what to purchase with this found $$.

here are your 4 choices. (i only have $70 of found $$, so some items will require more of an out-of-pocket expense than others. keep that in mind when making your decision, cuz i ain’t rich.) forgive the blurry reference pics.

1. 2 of these:

magnifying sconce :: anthropologie :: $48 each

magnifying sconce :: anthropologie :: $48 each

to go here, on either side of the mirror (or somewhere else, i’m not 100% sold, but you get the idea):

lonely mirror (recylced magazine mirror from urban outfitters)

lonely mirror (recylced magazine mirror, urban outfitters)

2. this handsome, rustic-ish bottom rester:

natural tree-stump side table :: west elm :: $229

natural tree-stump side table :: west elm :: $229

to sit here, at the table’s end:

don't mind the magazines. (table and chairs, ikea)

don't mind the magazines. (table and chairs, ikea)

3. this timely fellow:

in-motion clock, anthropologie $88

in-motion clock :: anthropologie :: $88

to replace this guy:

i curse at this poor clock a lot, although it's not its fault i'm always running late

i curse at this poor clock a lot, although it's not its fault i'm always running late (clock, target)

4. this little lady (which would force me to give the bedroom a much-needed decorating overhaul):

organic cotton pin-tucket duvet cover and shams :: west elm :: duvet, $99; shams, $19 each

organic cotton pin-tucket duvet cover and shams :: west elm :: duvet, $99; shams, $19 each

to replace this ol’ gal:

i think the pictures are off-centered. crap. (duvet cover, ikea)

i think the pictures are off-centered. crap. (duvet cover, ikea)

hmmm. so whatcha think?

10 responses to “oh happy day!

  1. I love the duvet!

  2. Bedding. Definitely the bedding.

  3. corksandcaftans

    ok… my first instinct to make the biggest difference is the bedding (I’ve had my eye on that same one for ages, beauteous!)…. everyone says how it just changes an entire room!

    BUT… that clock is incredible. It’s been all over all these design blogs lately and I LOVE IT. So you. And replacing the one you have now would be like shedding an old layer of skin… am I right?

    Those are the two things that stand out most as “you” or “totally necessary.”

    p.s. you are OCD and I love you for it.

  4. corksandcaftans

    oh and we both love sleep. absurdly a lot. so think of the heaven you’d be in all tucked inside that fluffy thing…. (and I’ll give you a few lint rollers for it to pick up little black hairs. Leo’s hairs… not… er, you get the idea).

  5. Joe and Radigan's

    duvet

  6. The candle wall sconces on either side of the bed please!!!

  7. Oliver would like you to know that with $70 you could purchase 140 Dingo bones. He finds them quite delious with their meaty centers and thinks that you would also enjoy them.

    Okay, but seriously… if I were you I’d go with either the sconces or the duvet & shams. I think you can find a better deal on a cool wall clock. I saw some recently but I can’t remember where. I’ll think on it and hopefully it will come to me. The rustic bottom rester is really neat, but very expensive. I feel like Rob could make you something like that for about 20 bucks.

    Between the sconces and the duvet, I think I would have to go with the duvet – It’s so pretty and romantic looking. It would also be the biggest change – your room would look so different so it would be a fun way to spend the $.

    Good luck deciding!

  8. thank you, ladies and gents. looks like the duvet is the clear winner here. (i’ve had my eyes on that little lady for quite some time, too, hizzle.) the clock will be placed on a wish list. (hint, hint, if you’re reading this, mom.) the sconces WILL be mine, donner, but in due time. and jen, tell oliver, i’ll keep that in mind. but you’re totally right! i could have a cool stumpy side table/stool made. would be so much groovier anyway.

    thank you all for helping make the decision so much easier.

    i’ll count on your services for more important decisions again soon.

  9. Erica Egner

    That stump thing from West Elm doesn’t look as cool in person. I’d go for the duvet. New bedding makes everyone happy.

Leave a Reply

