“i woke up this morning with texas on my mind”

never thought i’d say this, but i miss dallas. and having “texas on my mind” by pat green (one of the only country albums swinging’ around my itunes) play on repeat isn’t helping my longing. but there it is. i said it. i miss dallas and a host of other things:

i miss corn dogs at the state fair and being welcomed by big tex.

howdy, folks

howdy, folks

i miss getting dressed up to go out. on a tuesday.

i miss long drives with good tunes.

i miss live music at every turn.

i miss road trips to austin.

i miss angry dog in deep ellum. (best hangover cure.)

dear angry dog, i heart your delicious grease.

dear angry dog, i heart your delicious grease.

i miss limitless opportunities.

i miss dad’s brisket and ribs.

i miss the grandieur of a shiny, cheesy new club.

i miss chips, queso and margaritas on the patio at blue goose.

viva el blue goose!

viva el blue goose!

i miss the annual sleepover at LT’s.

i miss the comfort of greenville avenue and uptown.

i miss getting cray with my girls. (and you, too, fro.)

i miss sunday brunch.

i miss the deserted loneliness of downtown.

i miss the culture.

i miss not having to explain my obsession with college football.

hook 'em horns

hook 'em horns

i miss clashing opinions.

i miss the sun.

i miss blasting the a/c.

i miss my people.

i miss my home.

these frye boots were bought in the northeast and are DYING to set their soles down in tejas.

these frye boots were bought in the northeast and are DYING to set their soles down in tejas.

don’t get me wrong: there are things i don’t miss and countless things and people i would miss if/when i leave ‘toga for another city, but sometimes the mind wanders. and i can’t tell it “no.” that nostalgia is a demanding little biotche.

oh yeah. do me a favor. even if the thought of country music makes your face cringe and lip curl, give señor pat green a shot. this texas boy may surprise your face.

5 responses to ““i woke up this morning with texas on my mind”

  1. corksandcaftans

    oh honey, I know the feelin’. thanks for this journey to tejas, may I make it with you in person some day!

  2. Jaylee Baker

    texas misses you too!

  3. December isn’t too far away….LOL 🙂

  4. @corksandcaftans: on our upcoming life-changing trip, we’ll stop at blue goose for night booze/food and angry dog for hangover lunch. 🙂

    @jaylee and @jess: december! it seems so far away, but in 2 months exactly, i’ll be home for 8 whole days. hooray!

  5. I’ve never been to the Blue Goose and it’s like 5 minutes from my apartment!! I need to go to there.

    Oh and thanks for the blog love!

Leave a Reply

